Dodger fans rallying to voice their protest on the Time Warner deal at Short Stop bar in Echo Park on Apr. 16, 2014. (Lawrence K. Ho/Los Angeles Times)

Dodger fans rallying to voice their protest on the Time Warner deal at Short Stop bar in Echo Park on Apr. 16, 2014. (Lawrence K. Ho/Los Angeles Times)

Though closer Kenley Jansen looked more like Brandon League out there in the ninth, the Dodgers held on to prevent a sweep by the Giants, winning 2-1 in a weird Thursday afternoon game by the beautiful San Francisco Bay.

Too bad it wasn’t available to most of us on TV. Good thing I have a phone with MLB At Bat, the only app I gladly pay for every year, just in case I can’t reach a radio or television set.

My old L.A. Times colleague (and my good friend) Chris Erskine has started the ball rolling on a protest movement, rallying True Blue Fans, like me, to take to the streets (or in this case a bar around the corner from Dodger Stadium) and let $tan Ka$ten and those Time Warner terrorists know that WE WANT OUR DODGERS ON TV!

Among Chris’ points in this great article from today’s paper: This deal jumped the shark, stripped the fans of watching what could be Vin Scully’s last year, and needs a top-level peacemaker, say Bill Clinton, to step in and get the two sides back to the bargaining table.

Dodger fat cat $tan Ka$ten need to get his monocle out of his ass and see how unhappy his precious fans are.

Dodger fat cat $tan Ka$ten need to get his monocle out of his ass and see how unhappy his precious fans are.

But in the meantime, $tan Ka$ten’s lip service is just a lot of hot air. Before the season, he said: “I am now concerned that some fans are not going to be able to see games. And that’s disappointing and shouldn’t be happening.” I call bullshit on this one! If Ka$ten thought even once about the fans, he wouldn’t have taken away the 50 completely free games (nearly one-third of the season) we all got every year on broadcast TV. I miss Tuesdays on KCAL-9, I miss Eric Karros’ and Gary Miller’s bobbing heads. 

I got news for you, Mr. Moneybags (aka Ka$ten), we Dodger fans are not going to bail your ass out of this one. We aren’t going to switch providers (many of us don’t even have the option). We aren’t going to force our own providers to bend over for TWC. You and the terrorists are going to have to figure out how to get the Dodgers into my home all by yourselves.

I’m sure I’ll end up paying way too much for it in the long run anyway.